Additional Information

Site Information

 Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1
  • Image 2


Expected release date is October 26, 2018

Product Description

Kompromat EP
I Think Like Midnight
Available October 26, 2018
Track 1 Kompromat
Track 2 Daydream pusher
Track 3 Time to Walt
Track 4 Ghost Loads
Consider this EP as a calling card for the breadth of instrumental possibility that this band is capable of. Driving, psychedelic outer space surf twang powers "Daydream Pusher" with a manic look and a raised eyebrow. Big sky melodies of the open range ride through "Time to Walt" with hints of Yo La Tengo and Spaghetti Western cowboys. But there is also something new afoot in the ITLM universe: electronic beats and using the computer as a composition tool, resulting in the cagey interplay of 4/4 and 6/4 rhythms of "Kompromat" - a dance hit for our paranoid apocalyptic age. "Ghost Loads" concludes the set with a folktronic melding of spooky beats and finger-picked acoustic guitar out of the Bert Jansch/Nick Drake tradition. All intimations of what is to come in future ITLM releases.
Andrew Chalfen: guitar, keys, bass, beats, kalimba
Dean Sabatino: drums, percussion
Josh Newman: bass
Joe Genaro: keys
Daydream Pusher and Time to Walt recorded by Brian McTear at Miner Street Recording and mixed there by Brian McTear and Brendan Monahan, with additional recording by Andrew Chalfen at Trolleyvox Recording. Kompromat and Ghost Loads recorded and mixed by Andrew Chalfen at Trolleyvox Recording. Mastered by Paul Hammond at The Spot.
All songs ℗ and © 2018 Andrew Chalfen/You’re A Good Cat Music/BMI except Time to Walt by Chalfen/Genaro/Newman/Sabatino, Dean Sabatino/BMI, Joe Genaro/BMI, Bloodless Monkeys/ASCAP, You’re A Good Cat Music/BMI. AC did the art/layout. Photos: Mark Schreiber and AC. Thanks to Ian Mellanby and Wilbur Records, Hugh Hamilton, Marshall Fischer, Jeff Towne, Kris Wescott, WFMU WKDU, WPRB, WXPN, and Echoes.

Find Similar Products by Category